Seven Masuk students earn recognition as National Merit Scholars

Six of Masuk High School's seven National Merit Scholars pose for a photo with Acting Superintendent of Schools Joseph Kobza, left, and Board of Education Chairwoman Donna Lane, right, during Monday's board meeting.

MONROE, CT — Board of Education members recognized Masuk High School’s seven commended National Merit Scholars at their meeting Monday night.

Every year, the National Merit Scholar Qualifying Test is given and those finishing in the top 3.5 percent of all national test takers earn the honor, according to Principal Steven Swensen.

“They’re not getting National Merit Scholarships, but will be eligible for other scholarships offered by corporations and businesses,” Swensen said. “It’s just an incredible honor for them, their families and the schools.”

He praised educators in Monroe public schools, especially at Masuk, for preparing their students for the test.

Masuk’s National Merit Scholars include Meghan Braiewa, Brenna Chopskie, Justin Guinta, Emmanuel Hernandez, Jacob Lee, Neha Samuel and Grace Shawah.

Six of the students attended Monday night’s meeting. Board of Education Chairwoman Donna Lane handed out certificates when their names were called. Then they posed for pictures and received a round of applause.

“Congratulations,” Swensen said, as the students left the meeting.

“Congratulations guys,” Kobza added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC