Monroe state legislators welcome Masuk boys hockey champions to capitol

HARTFORD, CT — State Rep. Tony Scott, R-112th, Sen. Marilyn Moore, D-22nd, and Senate Minority Leader Kevin Kelly, R-21st, welcomed the Boys Hockey 2023 CIAC Division III State Champion Masuk High School Panthers to the State Capitol on Wednesday, May 3.

“The team won their first title in March, and I congratulate them on their victory,” Scott said. “I want to especially congratulate freshman goalie Maddex LaFountain, who made 24 saves, and Connecticut Hockey Player of the Year, Drew Scalia, who had a hat trick in the finals.”

A citation was presented to the team in the Senate chambers recognizing the hard work and dedication of this group of student athletes, leading the way for future teams to follow in their footsteps.

“I am so proud of these young men for their endless devotion to the sport,” said Moore. “Congratulations to the Masuk High School Hockey team for leaving it all out there on the ice.”

Kelly said, “we are excited to celebrate the State Champion Masuk High School Hockey Team at the Capitol today. The community of Monroe is proud of the high school team for bringing home the first CIAC State Championship hockey win.”

The team members were joined by Coach Andy Townsend and Masuk Principal Steven Swensen.

“I look forward to welcoming the four-time consecutive softball champions to the State Capitol next week,” Scott said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

Did you hear … ?

MONROE, CT — First Selectman Terry Rooney honored Edward Medaris with a certificate of commendation at…

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC