Dog owners must license their pets this June

Print More

Stevie Dilks-Anderson, of Monroe, has a license that's up-to-date.

MONROE, CT — Town Clerk Vida Stone reminds pet owners of the annual requirement to license their dogs, who are age six months or older, on or before June 30. It is required by Connecticut General Statute Sec.22-338.

New licenses will be valid from July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023. Proof of current rabies vaccinations are needed for a license to be issued.

When licensing a dog for the first time, provide proof that the dog has been neutered or spayed. The license fee for a neutered/spayed dog is $8; the fee for an unaltered dog is $19. There is a dollar late fee per month after June 30.

You do not need to wait to receive the renewal postcard in the mail to renew your dog’s license.

Those moving to Monroe from another town in Connecticut, should bring that town’s current license to the Monroe Town Clerk’s office. For one dollar, you will receive a Monroe dog license and a new tag number. If you lose your current tag it can be replaced for a fee of fifty cents.

You may obtain a dog license in person at the Monroe Town Clerk’s office, or by mail by sending a check payable to “Town of Monroe” with the correct fee (including any late fees), current rabies certificate and proof of spay/neuter along with a self-addressed stamped return envelope to: Monroe Town Clerk, Monroe Town Hall, 7 Fan Hill Road, Monroe, CT  06468.

For information, call the Monroe Town Clerk’s Office at 203-452-2811.

Top Dog

“This month we are holding a drawing for Top Dog,” Stone said. “It is $5 to enter. All proceeds will be going to the Monroe Playground Foundation for the new Wolfe’s Den playground. You can win Top Dog tag #1, #2 or #3.”

For information, click here to read the flyer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.