VIDEO: Happy 200th Birthday Monroe!

During Monday night’s Town Council meeting, First Selectman Ken Kellogg issued a proclamation honoring the Monroe Bicentennial Committee one day ahead of the official 200th anniversary of the town’s founding in 1823.

Committee members in attendance that night were Chairperson Vida Stone, Kelly Plunkett, Dee Dee Martin and Dona-Lyn Wales.

After the proclamation, Martin gave the first selectman a Monroe Bicentennial T-shirt on behalf of the committee and Wales gave him the Bicentennial ornament of the East Village-Barn Hill schoolhouse designed by a student in Monroe public schools.

Kellogg said town officials will honor that student one day in the near future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC