Recounts in Districts 1 and 2 uphold Monroe Republicans’ victories

Republicans celebrate Election Day victories at Carl Anthony's Trattoria, 477 Main St., Tuesday night.

MONROE, CT — Town registrars released the final results for Tuesday’s municipal election following Wednesday’s recount of districts one and two. The vote tallies upheld Republicans’ sweep of all of the town’s boards and commissions and will be submitted to the Secretary of the State.

First Selectman Ken Kellogg, who ran unopposed, garnered 3,664 votes.

Other Republicans running unopposed were Town Clerk Vida Stone (3,559 votes), Tax Collector Deborah E. Heim (3,468) and Town Treasurer Patrick O’Hara (3,396).

Constables Jim Weinberg (R) had 2,579 and Pat Tomchik (D) had 1,751. Both ran unopposed.

The Planning and Zoning Commission’s three candidates for alternates were also unopposed: Nicole Lupo (R) had 3,046 votes, Dominic Smeraglino III (R) 2,911 and Domenic Paniccia (D) had 1,704 votes.

Two candidates running for four-year-terms on the Board of Finance were unopposed. Michael Manjos (R) had 2,997 votes and Mary Hall (D) had 1,814 votes.

Greg Beno, a Republican, beat out Democrat Samantha Spino to finish a two-year-term on the Board of Finance by a vote of 2,747 to 1,571.

The Board of Education winners include Republican incumbents Christine Cascella (3,053) and Jeffrey Fulchino (2,760), and fellow Republicans Dennis Condon (2,881) and Justin Orlando (2,624), and incumbent Democrat Jerry Stevens (2,016). Candidates not winning seats are Democrats Chrissy Fensore Martinez (1,819) and Theresa Oleyar (1,789).

Town Council winners include Republican incumbents Enid Lipeles (2,923), Kevin Reid (2,874), Sean O’Rourke (2,859), Jonathan R. Formichella (2,805), Terry Rooney (2,799) and Dona-Lyn Wales (2,798). Democrats winning seats include incumbents Jason Maur (1,983) and Dee Dee Martin (1,971), as well as Jessica Katuska (1,809), who ran for her first term.

Democrats not winning seats on the council were Anthony Agnessanto (1,676) and Spencer Wesley (1,661).

Planning and Zoning Commission winners include Republican incumbents, including current chairman Michael O’Reilly (2,854) and Robert Westlund (2,740), with Democrat B.J. Hall (1,743) the odd man out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC