Monroe Registrars remind voters: State Election is Tuesday, Nov. 8

A voter fills out a ballot in the Masuk High School gym last year.

MONROE, CT — Connecticut has a gubernatorial race at the top of the ticket this November with incumbent Democrat, Ned Lamont, trying to fend off a challenge from Republican, Bob Stefanowski.

Lieutenant Gov. Susan Bysiewicz is Lamont’s running mate and Laura Devlin is Stefanowski’s joins Stefanowski’s ticket. Independent Party candidates are Robert Hotaling and Stewart “Chip” Beckett.

There are also key races for the Legislature and Congressional races. U.S. Rep. Jim Himes, D-4th, faces a strong challenge from former Darien first selectman, Jayme Stevenson, a Republican, and U.S. Sen. Richard Blumenthal, D-Connecticut, is being challenged by Republican, Leora Levy and write-in candidate John Anderson.

State Sen. Kevin Kelly, R-21st, is going against Democrat, Christopher Green, and State Rep. Tony Scott, R-112th, is running against Sheila Papps of Easton. State Sen. Marilyn Moore, D-22nd, is unchallenged.

Other races for state office include secretary of the state (Stephanie Thomas, D, Dominic Rapini, R, and Cynthia R. Jennings, I); treasurer (Erick Russell, D, Harry Arora, R, Jennifer Baldwin, I, and JoAnna Laiscell, Libertarian), attorney general (William Tong, D, Jessica Kordas, R, A.P. Pascarella, I, and Ken Krayeske, Green Party), comptroller (Sean Scanlon, D, Mary Fay, R) and judge of probate (T.R. Rowe, R, unopposed).

There is also a ballot question: Shall the Constitution of the State be amended to permit the General Assembly to provide for early voting.

Voting information

On Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 8, all four of Monroe’s polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.:

  • District 1: Fawn Hollow Elementary School, 345 Fan Hill Road
  • District 2: Stepney Elementary School, 180 Old Newtown Road
  • District 3: Monroe Elementary School, 375 Monroe Turnpike
  • District 4: Masuk High School, 1014 Monroe Turnpike

Click here to confirm your voter registration status and location of your polling place.

For those not currently registered to vote, the deadline for registering is Tuesday, November 1, 2022.

The easiest and quickest way to register to vote is online, if you have a valid Connecticut driver’s license, learner’s permit or non-driver photo ID card issued by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. Click here to register online.

You may also print a Voter Registration Card from the Monroe Registrars of Voters website, call 203-452-2820 to make an appointment to register in person or stop by the Registrars of Voters’ Office any time from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, November 1, 2022 during its registration session.

A limited registration session will be held on November 7, 2022 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. to admit only those seeking to vote in the election, whose qualification as to age, citizenship or residence were attained since November 1, 2022.

Election Day Registration for new, unregistered voters will be available in the Council Chambers of Monroe Town Hall, from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. ID and proof of residence are required.

All registered voters regardless of party, or registered unaffiliated, are eligible to vote in the State Election on Tuesday, November 8, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC