Monroe GOP unanimously endorses Rooney for first selectman

Terry Rooney

MONROE, CT — The Monroe Republican Town Committee endorsed its slate of candidates for the 2023 municipal elections on Nov. 7. The July 20 meeting culminated in the unanimous endorsement of first selectman candidate Terry Rooney.

Candidates emphasized their community service and eagerness to run on a team that has successfully produced results for Monroe in terms of economic development and sound fiscal management, according to a press release issued by the MRTC Wednesday.

First Selectman Ken Kellogg, who chose not to run for a fourth term, was thanked by the Monroe Republican Town Committee “for his sound leadership in moving Monroe forward in a positive direction.”

Town Treasurer Frank Dutches is running as the incumbent. Dutches replaced former treasurer, Patrick O’Hara, after his resignation.

“I look forward to continuing the advancements we’ve made in Town Hall,” Dutches said. “During my tenure as town treasurer, I’ve worked to diversify our investment portfolio, while significantly increasing our investment income.”

Working with the town’s banking partner, Dutches said he leveraged financial instruments that allowed several of the town’s sub-accounts to benefit from increased interest income and full FDIC insurance for funds greater than $250,000.

“I’ve worked with the first selectman and the Finance Department to make the approval process for budget expenditures and bill payments more efficient resulting in quicker turnaround times,” he said. “I am honored to receive the endorsement of the Republican Town Committee to run for a full term in office.”

Terry Rooney was nominated to run for first selectman by Board of Education Chair Dave Ferris and his motion was seconded by State Rep. Tony Scott, R-Monroe. Ferris and Scott touted Rooney’s commitment to the town and community and his years of service to both.

In his acceptance speech, Rooney said, “thank you for the honor of your endorsement of my candidacy for first selectman. I place high standards on public safety due to my former career as a police officer and a father who was a fireman. I have spent the last year getting to know our EMS community with my work on the building committee for the new EMS facility.”

“During my six years on the Town Council I have grown in my knowledge of town government from the budget process, to bonding and contract negotiations,” he continued. “In my role as the Town Committee vacancy chair I have worked to bring the best people to fill vacant positions and this has given me a deeper understanding of the function of all our boards and commissions and how they function for the betterment of our community.”

“I want to thank Ken Kellogg for his years of hard work and for his support,” Rooney said. “He has given us a more organized and streamlined Town Hall. I am looking forward to serving you as our next first selectman and hope to make everyone proud. Thank you again for the endorsement.”

Rooney is running against Democrat Jerry Stevens, a retired teacher serving on the Board of Education.

Most of the Republican slate consists of incumbents. Greg Beno, a current member of the Board of Finance, is running for the Board of Education to fill a seat opened by Shannon Reilly’s decision not to seek reelection.

Running in Beno’s place is Nick Sentementes.

Vincent Duva is running for the Town Council, vying for the seat left open by Rooney’s run for first selectman.

Here is the complete Republican slate:

First Selectman: Terry Rooney

Town Council: Enid Lipeles, Jonathan Formichella, Sean O’Rourke, Kevin Reid, Vincent Duva, Dona-Lyn Wales

Town Clerk: Vida Stone

Town Treasurer: Frank Dutches

Tax Collector: Deborah Heim

Board of Finance: Rebecca O’Donnell, Katherine Stauffer, Nick Sentementes

Board of Education: Greg Beno, David Ferris

Planning and Zoning Commission: Ryan Condon, Bruno Maini

Planning and Zoning Commission alternate: Nicole Lupo, Dominic Smeraglino

Constable: Victor Yanosy

All respectful comments with the commenter’s first and last name are welcome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC