Masuk Tennis: Girls win state qualifier, boys are division champs

Masuk High’s tennis seasons are winding down as the postseason tournaments unfold.

Singles player Katie Conley was a semi-finalist in the South-West Conference Tournament and the girls’ squad went on to win their State Tournament qualifying round match.

The Panthers consist of singles players Sophia Norton, Meghan Velky, Kate Conley and Sara Leisawitz; and doubles tandems Melanie Antony and Elana Kanjo, Lelia Giampe and Chloe Norton and Samantha Davoren and Madison Poisson.

Coach Monika Gagnon’s squad defeated Suffield 5-2 at home in the qualifying round of the state tourney on Friday. The lineup was shuffled a bit for this match. In singles play, Conley won 6-1, 6-3, Leisawitz won 6-1, 6-2 and Kanjo won 6-2, 6-3. In doubles, Norton and Giampe were victorious 6-3, 6-2 and Duha Barkana and Christa Luke won 6-1, 6-2.

Boys achieve goals

The Masuk boys set out to achieve goals set by Coach Mark Alswanger, including working together as a team to get all four singles players and three doubles duos to qualify for the SWC and State tourneys. Missions accomplished.

The Panthers went 8-3 during the regular season and earned first place in the SWC Colonial Division.

Several players picked up All Conference recognition for their efforts in the SWC Tournament. Sidarth Anil earned All SWC First Team honors, Siddarth Pamulapati earned Second Team accolades, and Anish Sharma, Owen Smith and Jack Dankenbrink all achieved Honorable Mention recognition.

Masuk is ranked sixth in the State Tournament and, following a bye, will face No. 11 Berlin in the first round on Tuesday, May 31.

Masuk has had many players step up when called upon. The following have made key contributions this spring: Aidan Silvestro, Kevin Hayes, Daniel Sanchez, Sawyer Judge, Manav Sannapparavan, Rayhann Shaik, Evan Boyle, Codey Schuelke and Gabriel Braun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

The Monroe Sun covers all of the news of Monroe, CT

Follow Us

© Copyright 2023, The Monroe Sun LLC